Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Illustrated Edition

24490481Yes, yes, I know, we all have probably read Harry Potter before. The catch is, have you ever read the new edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone that is also illustrated by Jim Kay? THAT is the question, and that is what I will be focusing on for this review! (The first review on Twin Reads yay!)

Of course the story of Harry Potter is just as magical, just as intriguing, just as unique, and just as wonderful as it was the first time. The characters are endearing and lovable, the storyline is fun while also being suspenseful, and the magic is just plain amazing. Basically, Harry Potter is still as engrossing of a read when you’re 20 as when your 12!

But, what really makes this edition special are the illustrations! Now, I know you’re probably asking “but Meg, I already have a copy of all of the Harry Potter books, why would I buy another one?” Well, I’ll tell you right now, because the illustrations in this edition create a whole new Harry Potter reading experience. And who doesn’t want to draw out the experience of Harry Potter for as long as possibly? (Also, if you can’t go to the theme park I will say that this is probably the next best thing.)

The illustrations greatly add to the story that we all know and love. I know for me, re-reading anything, especially Harry Potter, can be hard because I know the story so well. However, reading it in this format with these brand new, unique, and beautiful illustrations was like there was a new surprise on every page. The illustrations provided a brand new perspective on the story.

Ever since seeing the movies, it has been nearly impossible for me to picture the Wizarding World and characters any different from how the films portray them, but this edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone broke this habit. Being able to see Jim Kay’s illustrations alongside all of the major scenes of the book, allowed me as a reader to start picturing the world in a new and individual way once again. It was like I was reading Harry Potter for the first time—with all of the surprise, wonder, and excitement that comes with it.

I know it can seem odd to buy another edition of a book you already own (and have most likely already read more than once) but this edition will be something to rekindle your love for Harry Potter all over again. The illustrations are magical and beautiful and portray the world of Harry Potter in a way that you have never been seen before. Not to mention this book is just plain beautiful. Why wouldn’t you want it in your collection?

Obviously, I loved this illustrated edition! Let me know what you think of it if you have it. Did you have the same experience reading it as me? If you don’t have it, have you been thinking about getting it? What has been holding you back? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Illustrated Edition

  1. I just bought this book and I am so excited to start reading it!! I’ve also seen the movies and that’s why it has taken me so long to pick up the books- i’m worried all I will visualize is what I have seen in the movie.

    Like

    1. YAY that is so exciting! It is a great book and the illustrations make the reading experience so much more fun 🙂

      Yes, we had seen almost all of the movies before we read the books as well, but having the illustrations really helps you picture the book without seeing the movie in your head you know?

      Also, out of all the books, the first one is the most like its movie, after that they start to become more and more different. So the reading experience only gets better as you move through the books!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

