Christmas Book Haul

It’s a new year and it has been a while…

Okay it’s been more than a while. It has been far too long. But we are here now and we are trying to remedy the situation. This is our New Year’s resolution people. We need to get off our butts and get going on this blog because it’s fun and it was never our intention to let it drop for so long, but life got in the way as it often does. Anyway, for our first post of 2017 (wow 2017!) we are bringing you a Christmas book haul! Here we go!

 

Leah’s Haul

Harry Potter By J.K. Rowling

So, I read Harry Potter all the way through for the first time in 2016. I had read the first three books so many times I couldn’t even count it on two hands, but never more than that and this year I finally did it! To celebrate, I asked for my own set of Harry Potter books and I was lucky enough to receive this beautiful baby…

hpbthcset

Isn’t it amazing?! It even came with stickers.

Gotham Academy, Vol. 3:  Yearbook by Brenden Fletcher, Dustin Nguyen, Derek Fridolfs, Rafael Albuquerque

29633042

If you haven’t read Gotham Academy you must. It is by far one of my favorite comics around right now.

The Wild Unknown Tarot by Kim Krans

boxset_3_grande

Now this isn’t exactly a book, but it came with one. I got this set of Tarot cards and they are absolutely beautiful. Tarot cards have always been something I have wanted to learn more about so getting this, and the fantastic guidebook that came with it, was an absolute delight!

The Complete Book of Chalk Lettering by Valerie McKeehan and Creative Lettering and Beyond by Various

24693028 20981053

So these two, though they are two different books, sort of go hand in hand. I have been really interested in learning hand lettering lately so I thought a great place to start would be by reading some great books!

The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo by Drew Weing

27414462

So, if you haven’t noticed already, I am a pretty big fan of comics and graphic novels and this is one I have been waiting to get for a while now. Here is a little something to give you a taste of what this quirky cute book is about…

“Charles just moved to Echo City, and some of his new neighbors give him the creeps. They sneak into his room, steal his toys, and occasionally, they try to eat him.”

Sounds awesome right? I think so.

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

26156203

And last but not least I received this book. Think Russia, magic, history and intrigue. I can’t wait to crack it open!

 

Meg’s Haul

My turn! So, my haul is teeming with young adult fantasy (my favorite!) and more. I hope you guys are as excited about some of these as I am!

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

25558608

I read the first one and I loved it. I had been waiting to finally get this book, but I was holding out for Christmas. Good thing I did!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Illustrated Edition) by J.K. Rowling and Jim Kay

29241319

This book needs no introduction. I mean just look at it! Absolutely gorgeous.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

28374007

I was so excited about this one I am already reading it. Three sisters pitted against each other? Sounds thrilling to me! Here’s to a great first book of 2017!

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

28962906

The name says it all. Victorian era London? Jack the Ripper? Awesome fan art? To say I am intrigued by this book would be an understatement.

Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman

28954137

I love everything Shadowhunters. I have every book. I’ve read every short story. The last thing I needed for my collection to be up to date was this fantastic print collection and I was lucky enough to receive it!

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

24921954

 Just one look at the first sentence of the description and I was interested…

“WELCOME TO MANHATTAN, 2118.”

What Light by Jay Asher

29093326

I kind of have a thing for Christmas books. I also was a huge fan of Thirteen Reasons Why. These two reasons added up, of course, to my needing to have What Light.

The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

26258306

Got it for this Christmas. Waiting to read it for next Christmas. I’m sure it will be just as heartwarming as the first!

The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

22698569

I have been waiting on this book for what feels like forever. I have been a fan of this series, and its main character and kick-butt heroine, Kelsea Glynn, from the start and can’t wait to read this epic sci-fi fantasy series’ conclusion!

Well that’s it! That is our Christmas Book Haul for 2016. We hope we were able to introduce you to some books you haven’t heard of yet. Did you guys get any exciting books over the holidays? We’d love to hear what you all got! Let us know it the comments and we hope everyone’s New Year is off to a fantastic start!

3 thoughts on “Christmas Book Haul

  1. Wow, it looks like you both got some amazing books! I just finished with A Torch Against the Night, and it was brilliant. So excited that the series got extended to 4 books, because there is definitely more to explore. It’s great to see a post from you guys again and I hope to see you around more this year ^-^

    Like

    1. A Torch Against the Night was one of the books we were most hoping we would get for Christmas! So glad to hear your positive review of it. We can’t wait to read it. We would’ve been so disappointed if the series didn’t get extended to four books for sure. Kind of always figured it would work out though; An Ember in the Ashes was just SO GOOD, don’t think any publisher would pass up that series! YES, we are hoping to be a little more present on this blog from here on out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

