10 Best Books Read in 2016

So now that 2016 is over and our Goodreads challenges are completed (we did it!) we thought this would be a good time to bring you guys a list of our favorite books we read and 2016. Here we go!

Leah’s Picks

All of Harry Potter 

6

That’s right I did it. I finally did it. It has taken me so long to finally get around to reading harry potter. Honestly, it is kind of embarrassing considering how much I have always loved the movies and also how much I enjoy reading. You think I would’ve read them the minute they came out! Well, I finally did it and I can honestly say they lived up to the hype. I think I gave every single one of these books a five star rating on Goodreads, because how could you not?! My favorite definitely ended up being Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. There was so much more to the book than the movie lets on and it added so way more nuance to the story. Finally getting to this series was definitely well worth my time.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

19288043

Gone Girl is another book I am late to the game on. I saw the movie and was so surprised and enthralled by it. I did not expect what happened! It was one of the most frustrating experiences of my life and the book did nothing to ease that frustration. If anything the book was even more exasperating (but in a good way)! The characters and their story were so intricately crafted and the author revealed everything at just the right moments. This is truly one of the most thrilling books I have ever read.

My Mad Fat Diary by Rae Earl

29102966

Though My Mad Fat Diary was definitely not my favorite book I read this year, (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire gets that distinction) it was definitely one of my most anticipated. I have been a huge fan of the TV show for a long time now and I have been waiting for the book to come out in America for what feels like forever. Well, it finally did and it was one of the first books I read this year. It was just as endearing, uncomfortable, relevant and hilarious as the show. If you are a fan of the TV series definitely get your hand on a copy of its source material, it’s well worth the read.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

23437156

Wow. That is literally all I have to say about this book. It was amazing. The characters are so complex and their interactions with each other are heartbreaking, endearing and exasperating. The world building is intense. I really can’t believe someone created it from nothing. It felt so real.

Friends With Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

11389398

My list wouldn’t be complete without a graphic novel contribution! I love anything and everything that involves Faith Erin Hicks. Her art style is fantastic and her storytelling abilities are awesome, so I definitely had to pick up this book, which has somehow managed to elude me thus far. It was cute, intriguing and funny. Everything I could hope for in a graphic novel!

 Meg’s Picks

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

25494343

Lady Midnight was everything I hoped it would be! A brand new book to add to the Shadowhunter world, Lady Midnight delivered on all levels. I loved reading about the Blackthorn family and being introduced to this new set of complex, endearing, and sometimes infuriating characters. Experiencing the shadowhunter world in Los Angeles was so new and exciting while still keeping all of the familiar elements of Cassandra Clare’s universe I already know and love (and sometimes hate. I’m looking at YOU Clave). Lady Midnight is, without a doubt, now my favorite book of all Clare’s shadowhunter novels! You can check out my full review here, to see even more reasons why this book made it to my Best Books Read in 2o16 list!

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

Passenger is everything you could ask for when it comes to the first book in a new fantasy series. Great world building, slow but steady pace, captivating characters, driving plot, unbelievable twists, and a keep-you-hanging ending, all add up to make Passenger quite the rollercoaster of a read! I have always wanted to pick up one of Alexandra Bracken’s books and this one definitely lived up to the hype around her name. And anyway, who doesn’t love a little time travel?

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528

I had been in what felt like a bit of a contemporary fiction reading slump for a while. There hadn’t been a new Sarah Dessen book for me to read, and nothing I heard about was really sticking out to me. Then I remembered how much I loved Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson back when I read it in high school and I went straight to buy all of Morgan Matson’s books up to that point, including here newest book, The Unexpected Everything. And I am SO glad I did that! The Unexpected Everything is (of course) everything that I look for in a YA contemporary; cute, fun, relatable characters, and summer time all add up for a fantastic, breezy, summer read!

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

18189606

In that same vein, of course when I bought all of Morgan Matson’s books, that also included Since You’ve Been Gone, which I enjoyed almost as much as The Unexpected Everything. I loved the story of two best friends, and Emily’s journey out of her shell without her best friend by her side. A good story about getting out of your comfort zone and living life, Since You’ve Been Gone is the perfect summer read to get you out of the house and doing every crazy thing you have ever wanted to do!

Oops! I almost forgot; all of the cute playlists that Morgan Matson puts into her books always add to the atmosphere as well (and I got some great new song recommendations)! Love!

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

25852870

I have always been a sucker for Pride and Prejudice; everything about the story just makes me smile to myself (either from the wry humor and social commentaries or from the encounters between Darcy and Elizabeth). Sure sometimes the Bennett family can be slightly infuriating and seem a few sandwiches short of a picnic, but thats what makes them so endearing! And none of that was lost in this retelling! Eligible was quirky, clever, and, most of all, true to the original story in its own unique and inventive way. I loved it!

So, that is it! Those are the best books we read in 2016. Did you guys read any of these? What are your thoughts on them? What are your favorite books you read in 2016? Be on the lookout because soon we will have a post about our least favorite books we read in 2016. It’s sure to be an interesting one!

3 thoughts on “10 Best Books Read in 2016

  1. thanks for the inspiration Twin Reads! This puts some new things on my list – I might start with Gone Girl. I’ll let you know!

    Like

  2. This was such a greta list! Leah, I haven’t read all of the Harry Potter books! I only around the first three, and relied on the movies after! Such shame! But I am looking forward to finishing the series this year! I can’t wait! Happy reading girls! xo, Kat

    Like

Leave a Reply

