Review: Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

Hey everyone! So I have a few reviews that I did a while back before Meg and I started Twin Reads that I am going to be posting in the coming weeks. This is the first one, I hope you find it helpful/intriguing/interesting/whatever!

So I’m a little late to the party with this one. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol came out in 2011. It’s been a couple of years but I finally got around to buying it. Now the question is whether there is really anything else I can say about it. In 2012 it won an Eisner award and a Harvey Award. It’s pretty good. Everyone thinks so. I think so too.

Anya’s Ghost is about a girl named Anya, obviously, who literally falls down a well. She did not expect to make a new friend at the bottom of this well, especially not one that’s a ghost. Anya’s new friend makes her life a little less boring, a little easier and a lot cooler. At least, it did at first. But things are not always what they seem and soon things with Anya’s new friend go awry. What ensues is a little funny, a little cute, a little disturbing, a little scary, but also a lot of fun.

The art is beautiful and the writing is sharp and witty. The characters are well developed and real. Nothing is black and white. Anya’s Ghost is a must read for anyone and everyone.

Goodreads Rating: 4/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

