Review: Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Hey guys! This is the second one of those reviews I was telling y’all about. The ones I wrote before we started Twin Reads. I hope you enjoy it!

It has been a ridiculously long time since I have read a comic book or a graphic novel. That is never a good thing. I love graphic novels and comics even though they took some getting used to when I first picked them up as a kid. Because they are comprised of pictures, when I first read them I found the fast pace to make me anxious. However, now I enjoy the fact that they are quick, beautiful reads that I can devour in an afternoon and that is exactly what happened when I read Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley.

This graphic novel has been out for a little while now and I got it as soon as it came out (with me being a huge fan of Bryan Lee O’Malley’s other work which includes the Scott Pilgrim series) but, suffice to say, it’s been a while since I have read a graphic novel and thus, there it sat on my shelves. Until now.

Seconds is the story of Katie. She is the fantastic chef of a very popular restaurant called Seconds, but she is ready to move on and open her very own restaurant. However, it’s not progressing as fast as she would like and soon strange things begin to happen back at Seconds. Katie finds a notebook and magic mushrooms that allow her to write down her mistakes and turn back time to fix fix them. However, soon things get out of hand and even though it was what she thought she wanted it might not be anymore.

I picked Seconds up off my shelf and dusted it off. I read it in one afternoon. It did not disappoint. The art was beautiful yet simplistic. The writing was humorous and concise and the story was funny, gripping, exciting, intense, and emotional. There is not a single thing I didn’t like about this graphic novel except maybe the length. I wouldn’t have minded it being a little longer.  😉

Have you ever read a graphic novel? Do you enjoy the fast pace? Have you ever liked a book so much you wished it was longer? Tell me in the comments!

Goodreads Rating: 5/5 Stars

Leave a Reply

