Review: A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall

I picked up this book for the most obvious reason. I liked the cover. It was cute. What more can I say? But there were other reasons I was drawn to A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. I was pulled in by the cover. I was intrigued by the story line, due to the fact that Valentines Day was soon approaching, but the publisher also caught my eye.

This book is published by a company called Swoon Reads. I had never heard of it. A quick google search told me that Swoon Reads is also “a little something different”. They publish books based on reader’s responses. Anyone can upload a manuscript to their community, the members of the site then read the manuscripts and give feedback, and finally Swoon Reads publishes the books the readers enjoyed most. It is, essentially, a backwards publishing company. Which is fitting to this book because it is almost a backwards love story.

A Little Something Different is the story of two college students, Lea and Gabe, and how, over the course of a school year, they fall in love. However, this story is never told from their own perspectives. It is told from the perspectives of 14 other people in their lives. Backwards, right? As a reader, sometimes I found myself wishing for a little time spent in the heads of the two main characters. I wanted more. But other times it was refreshing to see the process of falling in love from the viewpoint of a bystander.

Overall this book was cute and quirky. Sometimes the humor seemed forced (two of the perspectives aren’t actually people at all, but rather a bench and squirrel) and I wanted some perspective from the main characters, but I enjoyed the lightheartedness of it all. A little Something Different by Sandy Hall, though not one of my favorites, makes for a cute Valentines Day read much like the cover lets on.

Do you, as a reader, often find that the book cover reflects the content within? What impact do you think perspective has on how a story unfolds? Let me know in the comments!

I gave it 3/5 Stars on Goodreads.

 

Leave a Reply

